Uncategorized

Barbara and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

I went to sleep with a tummy ache and when I woke up I still felt that way. I didn’t want to take the kids to school, but Jay said I really should. I could tell it was going to be a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.
At breakfast Abigail made a toasted roll that I was planning to save, and the kids left dishes in the sink. I couldn’t find anything I wanted to eat, and finally had to eat a gluten free fruit bar.
I think I’ll move to Africa.
When we got in the car to go to school Jay’s car was parked behind mine. Jay’s car is never parked behind mine, but I had to move it even though I was late.
I could tell it was going to be a terrible, horrible, no go very bad day.
As CCA I realized I didn’t pack one of the folders with several lessons in it. The table was covered with crumbs and Joel’s gym class got canceled. Who needs gym anyway.
I could tell it was going to be a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.
I could tell because I forgot to charge my phone and my book is on my phone. I knew I wouldn’t be able to read. And the internet connection wouldn’t work even though I had to send emails about youth group being canceled and had specificaally set it up so I could send them while I was out. Next time I need to cancel youth group, I’ll be sending my email from Africa.
There were apples and peanut butter in the kids lunches, and I packed them pretzels and juice. I left my tuna fish to go with my crackers and water at home in the refrigerator. I had to steal one slice of apple from each kid and a little peanut butter. I hate missing lunch.
It was a terrible, horrible, no go very bad day.
After school we had to go to the bank for my mom. I forgot the deposit slip and had to run home. When I got to the bank and unloaded the kids, I realized that I had the wrong check. We had to go home again and then back to the bank.
Next month when rent checks come in, I’ll be in Africa.
On the way home I promised the kids a snack at the grocery store. I just went to the grocery store, but I forgot to get snacks. It’s going to snow tonight so the store was insane. I bet it doesn’t snow in Africa.
I am having a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day I told my kids. No one even answered.
So when we got home I canceled writing exercises and Spanish, but nobody thnaked me. I said, give me some time to send these emails, but they couldn’t stop fooling around. I didn’t want to answer math questions and teach grammar. They can’t make me do it!
When I went to make dinner I forgot to defrost the bread. I tried to make cornebread. Cornbread with out gluten. Cornbread without a recipe. And that’s just how it tasted. It didn’t taste like Jiffy Mix. I hate cornbread that doesn’t taste like Jiffy Mix.
It was a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.
I had to cancel youth group, and I hate canceling youth group.
I had to deal with people, and I hate dealing with people.
My sweatshirt was too hot. My tea was too cold. I had to wash dishes before dinner. I hate washing dishes before dinner.
I wanted to watch a good movie tonight, but the library didn’t have any good ones.
The dog whinned all afternoon and wouldn’t shut up.
It has been a terrible, horrible, no good,very bad day.
Jay says some days are like that.
Even in Africa.

Standard

Leave a Reply

